h1

A Day of Volunteering…

July 26, 2007

Hey everyone! Not much going on around here. As some of you may know, I have been volunteering at the Arizona Science Center. I thought that I’d take you through a typical day there. In the morning, I wake up around 7:00 and get ready to leave by 8:15 to catch the bus (though, sometimes, like today, I leave too late and have to take the next one. *sigh*). After about an hour and a half on one bus, I transfer to another one for another thirty minutes of ϋber-fun bus riding. Once there I go in through the employee entrance and get my volunteer apron (shut up) and my name tag. Then I usually go to the 3rd floor and stop little kids from killing each other over marbles (or from eating them… Yay! It’s time for an anecdote! :p – There was this kid yesterday who kept asking me if one of the marbles was made out of candy. – I watched him like a hawk-). Anyway, then I usually watch kids make dams with the sand + water river thingy (pictures to follow (If I can borrow someone’s camera). I can’t figure out why they all make dams, I mean I used to make dams when I went there when I was younger. Hmmm. Something to ponder… The philosophy of dam building. Probably a class at some college. Did you know that there are classes about television shows at colleges? Like one about Lost, and Star Trek, and pro wrestling shows. That’s ridiculous (Thank goodness for spell check otherwise I couldn’t have spelt that)! But I digress. What was I talking about… oh yeah, dams. Okay, so after the dam building I usually take out an activity to do with the kids, it varies per day, yesterday I did a bunch of stuff with bugs (In conjunction with our Entomology exhibit : CSI: Crime Scene Insects) I’m not sure what I’ll be doing today… I’m typing this on the bus, probably bloody handprints. That’s a really cool experiment that uses vinegar, baking soda, and goldenrod paper. The baking soda-water solution reacts with the paper turning it a dark (bloody) red. Then the acidic vinegar neutralizes the basic baking soda returning the paper to its former color. It looks really cool. Again pictures to follow. The kids really like things that involve markers so maybe chromatography (y’know when you color on a coffee strainer and then put water on it to separate the colors into their constituents). Maybe pics later. After cleaning up there, I’ll usu. break for lunch. Woot! Discounted employee vending machines! I have to get to work now. I’ll finish up later.

One comment

  1. How in the world did your life become so much more interesting than mine. I’m jealous, everything about Martinsville High and Martinsville are indicative of second class education. Unfortunately some of my classes were not transferable leaving me in regular classes with idiots that only made 10th grade through the impossibly rosy “no child left behind” it’s sickening I’m sure you can relate. Have fun at school.

    -Jason



Leave a Reply

