Archive for August 10th, 2007

h1

School, Aaargh! (A Rant From Connor)

August 10, 2007

Well, school starts on Monday (13th) for me. I so do not want to go. For one, I don’t want to go for all the usual reasons: No more break, more work, earlier bed time. However, on top of that, I’m going to a school I hate. It’s called Westwood High School. It’s not the school I should go to (i.e. my school is not a feeder school for it). It is known for it’s poor standardized test scores and less than cultured students (gang bangers). Now, you may be wondering why I am going to this god-awful, funds deprived (did I mention they had little cash?) school. Well, that’s because, like any school district that has a particularly low scoring school, they put an academic program there. This is the International Baccalaureate (IB) program. (Incidentally this is the same program that Mrs. Griffin is teaching, albeit in Belgium.) This is a wonderful program who’s diploma is not only accepted, but lauded, in colleges around the world. (For more info go to www.ibo.org ) I wish to go to college at Oxford so this is an amazing thing for me, that is if I don’t get jumped and killed, of course. *sigh* I only know two people who will be going to Westwood, and I don’t know either particularly well. On the other hand, all of my friends are going to the school I’m supposed to go to. Oh well. I guess I’ll just have to see how things turn out.

-Connor

h1

A Day of Volunteering Cont.

August 10, 2007

During lunch I’ll usually talk to one of the employees. (I won’t put their names in here as they have not given me their permission.) Then I’ll usually go to the 3rd floor and do an activity until it’s time to go. A 1 1/2 hour bus ride and I’m home.